Tomatoes All Winter Long

Colleen grows some fantastically tasty tomatoes!

wildstead

TOMATOES ALL WINTER LONG020

by Colleen Smith

Canning tomatoes is something that my family just does. My dad started using an outdoor propane cooker to heat the hot water bath. This keeps the house a bit cooler in the heat of the summer. This year I blanched them out doors and brought the operation inside. It was easier to keep track of my sweet one year old, Leonora. Every year I think to myself, “Is this really worth it?” In January I always answer back, “yes it is.” Opening up a can of tomatoes in the middle winter can ward off the winter blues while feeding the family. I canned a hot and mild salsa this year. I also canned a tomato sauce.
I always enjoy talking to my dad this time of year to see what he has canned and what heirlooms are ripe in his garden. After all…

View original post 326 more words

Leave a Reply

